Virginia Retirement System 2015 Fiscal Impact Statement

	House of Origin
	Second House
2.	Patron: Stuart
3.	Committee: Appropriations
4.	Γitle: Virginia Retirement System; purchase of service credit for prior service.
5.	Summary: Allows a member of the Virginia Retirement System granted an unpaid leave of
	absence for the death of a child to purchase up to one year of service credit per occurrence of leave. Current law allows the purchase of service credit for an unpaid leave of absence related to the birth or adoption of a child.
6.	leave. Current law allows the purchase of service credit for an unpaid leave of absence related
	leave. Current law allows the purchase of service credit for an unpaid leave of absence related to the birth or adoption of a child.

- **9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:** VRS and all participating VRS employers and members.
- **10. Technical Amendment Necessary:** No. The engrossed bill includes an amendment to specify that this provision would allow the purchase of prior service in the event of the death of a qualifying child as defined in § 51.1-500.
- 11. Other Comments: Section 51.1-142.2 of the *Code of Virginia* outlines the rules regarding the purchase of prior service (PPS) program for the Virginia Retirement System (VRS). The statute currently allows the purchase of service credit for an unpaid leave of absence related to the birth or adoption of a child for up to one year of service credit per occurrence of leave but does not allow the purchase of service for unpaid leave related to a child's death. This bill would allow the purchase of service for a leave of absence granted by an employer due to the death of a child.

HB 1890 also proposes changes to § 51.1-142.2, including the addition of a category of leave that may be purchased for certain types of leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (29 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq.). HB 1890 would allow a member to purchase up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave under the FMLA taken for the purpose of caring for an immediate family member with a serious health condition, all as defined in the FMLA. The period of unpaid leave to be purchased would have to have been certified by the employer as eligible under the FMLA. Should this bill as well as HB 1890 pass, a member could be eligible to purchase in total up to 15 months of service in the event of unpaid leave related to a child's death (12 weeks under HB 1890 and up to a year under this legislation).

Date: 2-12-15

Document: SB942E.DOC